Rustler’s IUFU Collingwood Cup 2018

Queens University Belfast are set to host the 2018 Irish Universities
Collingwood Cup in February next for the first time since 2004.

The competition will be sponsored by the leading Irish fast food brand
Rustlers – part of the Kepak Group – who have signed a four year agreement
to sponsor all men’s and women’s Third Level Football league and cup
competitions in Ireland including the Collingwood Cup.

Speaking at today’s draw, Cian O’Donnell, Rustlers Assistant Brand Manager
said “Today’s draw whets the appetite for what should be a fantastic three
days of football at Queens University next February. Rustlers is proud to be
supporting Ireland’s oldest All-Ireland football cup competition, as part of
our overall commitment to Third Level Football, and we are looking forward
to our first experience of this great cup competition.”

The tournament has also been scaled back from it’s traditional four day to a
three day affair with the First Round of fixtures featuring six sides taking
place in late January.

Eight teams will then take part in the quarter finals, semi finals and the final
at Queens University Sports Grounds, with these ties commencing on Monday February 5 and culminating in the final at The Dub on Wednesday
February 7.

Irish Universities Chairman, Terry McAuley said: “I am delighted that
Queens University have agreed to host this years tournament, it promises
to be a special occasion with the top class facilities available to us through
Queens Sport. I would also like welcome our valued new sponsors Rustlers
on board and I hope that the new format we have introduced this year will
help raise the quality of this prestigious tournament.”

The draw took place today at Queen’s University Dub Pavillion, Belfast.

First Round

  • NUI Galway v Dublin City University
  • University of Limerick or Maynooth University
  • Trinity College Dublin or Royal College of Surgeons

(Games to be played on Wednesday, January 24th)

Quarter Finals

  • University College Cork v Mary Immaculate College
  • Ulster University v NUI Galway or Dublin City University
  • Queens University Belfast v Trinity College Dublin or Royal College of Surgeons
  • University of Limerick or Maynooth University v University College Dublin

(Games to be played on Monday, February 5th)


  • Queens University Belfast/Trinity College Dublin/Royal College of Surgeons v University College Cork/Mary Immaculate College
  • University of Limerick/Maynooth University/University College Dublin v Ulster University/NUI Galway/Dublin City University

(Games to be played on Tuesday, February 6th)

Final – Wednesday, February 7th

The Collingwood Cup is one of the oldest trophies still being played for in
Irish football.

Established in 1914 it celebrated it’s centenary almost four ago when the
2014 tournament was hosted by University College Dublin at Belfield in
February of that year.

The cup was first presented by Bertram Collingwood a Professor of
Physiology at University College Dublin in 1914 and four universities took
part in the inaugural tournament in Dublin that February, University College
Dublin, Queens University Belfast, Trinity College Dublin and University
College Galway.

University College Dublin defeated Queens University 2-1 in the final which
was played at Dalymount Park,Dublin the home of Bohemians FC and since
then the Belfield side have dominated the competition with a total of 45
straight wins and they also shared the trophy on three other occasions.
University College Cork are the current holders following their 2-1 defeat of
University College Dublin in the 2017 final at Maynooth University last

The 2018 competition will have 11 teams initially competing. The three
preliminary round games are set to take place in late January with the
University of Limerick entertaining Maynooth University, Dublin City
University travelling to take on National University of Ireland Galway and
Trinity College Dublin facing Royal College of Surgeons at College Park,

The winners of these three ties will then go into the draw for the quarter
finals along with Queens University Belfast, University College Cork,
University College Dublin, Mary Immaculate College Limerick and Ulster
University who will field a side selected from the Jordanstown, Coleraine
and Magee College campus’s.

Hosts Queens University will be keen to perform well on their home patch
as they have failed to capture the Collingwood Cup in over 30 years.

Although Queens were outright winners on 20 occasions their last success
came in 1985 when they defeated the hosts University College Cork at The
Mardyke with Frank Dunlop notching the only goal four minutes into time
added on.

The last Collingwood final hosted by Queens was in 2004 and University
College Cork got the better of Ulster University Coleraine winning a close
encounter 1-0 the goal scored by Shane Hennessy.

While the last time a host university captured the cup was in 2003 when
University College Cork were winners at The Mardyke beating University
College Dublin in the final.