Queens University 2 Coagh Utd 2

On a perfect day for football, Queen’s were without Stephen McDowell and James Ferrin suspended. Daniel Hanna and Thomas Plant injured and Kevin Hagan unavailable.

Queen’s started the brighter and a series of crosses into the Coagh box failed to find a home forward except when Mark Prenter ran onto Michael Allison’s low cross and William Hassin made a good save in the Coagh goal. With half an hour gone Queen’s defender Adam Robinson was adjudged to have committed a foul when jumping for a high ball. Jason Ferry’s spot kick was pushed onto the crossbar by Queen’s keeper Declan Brown and then scrambled to safety.

The second period was a much livlier affair. On the hour a good long pass found Coagh’s Mark Taylor free on the right hand side of the box and he controlled the ball neatly before striking a low shot into the net under keeper Brown. Soon afterwards Coagh forward Ian Todd was dismissed following a second yellow card. Coagh had a let off when from Ryan Murphy’s corner, Daniel Culbert’s powerful header rebounded off the crossbar. With 20 minutes left Queen’s at last found the net when Owain Beggs’ low cross was turned in from close range by Ciaran O’Hare. Queen’s now sensed victory but amazingly it was Coagh who regained the lead, Ryan Smyth back heeling the ball home from a right wing cross. Queen’s piled forward in search of a equaliser and got it when Prenter’s cross to the far post was handled by Coagh right back Scott McGeown to prevent the ball reaching the in rushing O’Hare. McGeown was sent off and Prenter made no mistake from the penalty spot. Coagh’s nine men held out for a deserved point in the remaining few minutes.

Even allowing for the absence of so many players this was a very poor performance, the only consolation being the willingness to fight to the end in search of an equaliser.

Next up is a league game away to Dollingstown on Sat 21st February. 3pm kick off.

Queen’s University: Declan Brown, James Turley, Zac Fletcher, Matt McManus, Adam Robinson, Mark Prenter, Daniel Culbert, Michael Allison, James Lavery, Owain Beggs, Ryan Murphy.

Substitutes: D. McMahon, Ciaran O’Hare, Eoghan Byrne, Jack McCrea, Sean Walsh.